My badge of shame…

I use to joke that my life was like reality show.. How true that is really…

Years ago my half sister was on the Jerry Springer show… I know I know.. but she was.. I had no idea until years later when I was forced to watch the show on tape… Blah the whole thing was sickening..

I am not sure what was worse, the fact of why they were there or the fact that she was there.. either way.. there before the world sat my off her rocker sister and her then just as nutty husband.. airing their dirty laundry in front of the world!

I use to think can it get much worse.. oh yes yes it can… Now I am gonna admit I have watched my share of reality TV.. I watch Billy The Exterminator, Duck Dynasty, and yes big sigh here even Honey Boo Boo..

I am not sure why I am drawn to these types of shows… really.. is it that I watch these people and think… WOW I am glad I do not do those things, or Maybe I am not as strange as I once thought, compared to them.. Or even maybe there is a horrible side of me that feels superior to them in some ways.

I have tried to find some redeeming quality to any of these shows.. I know they make me laugh, but why… what is it about them that makes me laugh at their stupidity, their vulgar behavior, their lack of common sense? When in fact they should be pitied.

I have really thought and watched these show to try and find something good in them.. and believe it or not I have… they all have their flaws… and oh yes some of the stuff that comes
out of their mouths would shock ya! But in all honesty.. they are all very close families.. They all stick together, they all have fun together, and yes they all try to do good things for their community… They may not do things the way most normal people would do them, but they are true to themselves…

Now why you would want to air your dirty laundry on national TV is beyond me, why you would want to subject yourself and your family to the haters.. I have no clue…

It got me thinking tho.. I may not subject the world to my erratic behavior.. or my many mood swings, or even some of the things that flash through my mind and out of my mouth, but there is someone who is subjected to them, someone who knows all and sees all… GOD… yikes think about it..

So while the world may not know my dirty laundry, God does… The world may not know my inner shames, but My Father dose… My life is not filled with haters, and people who judge me for my life, but there is someone who is gonna hold me accountable for all my sins… someone who means more to me then anyone, someone that it shames me to say.. has seen it all, been right there with me, yet through it all loves me.. and only wants the best for me.. and most importantly has forgiven me…

So will I stop watching reality TV… I would love to tell you yes, but I honestly can say I guess it will depend on my mood… but I can tell you this… I will forever know that my own life is now a reality show.. being watched in Gods mind and and heart. Just blessed to know no matter what he will never change the channel and tune me out…

About drell3

People who know me would say I am nuts! Crazy! Silly! Honest! Loyal! I would say they are right.. but I am so much more... I am a Mother, Wife, Daughter, Friend, Cook, I could fill up this whole page.. I love my life.. I love my husband, I love my child! My family.. you thought i was gonna say my work! LOL NOT!!! I am on a journey... I am coming into my own.. discovering, learning..I am transforming.. one day I will get my butterfly wings.
This entry was posted in Billy The Externator, Duck Dynasty, family, Gods Love, Honey Boo Boo Child, Looking inward, Reality TV. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My badge of shame…

  1. coastalmom says:

    I loved this one so much! I love that your sis was on Jerry Springer! Too funny. When people found out that my ex would come and stay in our home with my new husband and my kids (ex’s kids, that’s why he was there) duing the holidays… they said we needed to be on Jerry Springer! But we got along for the sake of the kids and part of the deal I made with my very understanding current husband (that wanted to move us,) was he had to be open to our guest room being used by him. When my son got his own place he would stay with him but I think my point is that we all could be on a reality show that might even keep people tuned in on a regular basis. I think the thing is… it makes us feel more normal. Smile. I love what you said about having to be honest… no promises… depending on your mood! Me too drell, sadly, me too…. 😉

  2. coastalmom says:

    Let me clarify… watching the horrific fights and crazy habits of those reality show peeps makes us looking on in horror feel more normal. When I don’t relate. LOL. I mean WHO fights like the housewives or talks to their family, let alone their adult friends like that?? I have had some serous discussions but I don’t think I have ever leaned to anything close to the drama those ladies seem to have… even if much of it is scripted. My daughter and I started watching The Hills because she was moving to the location they were filming for school and I have to admit that I stayed hooked long after she moved out. Arghhh who am I? Did I really admit that? It kind of made me feel closer to her once she moved… seeing all the same stomping gournds and all..Pleeease don’t judge me… lol. 😮

    • drell3 says:

      Ha ha dear how could I ever judge you.. Look at me… We are all living, walking, talking reality stars! You always bring a smile to my face.. Thanks for sharing.. and thanks for being you! Be blessed today.

  3. Eddy says:

    I am currently hooked on “Housewives of New Jersy” I can’t say why, and yes, I am ashamed that I am, but beneath all that they display I see friends who are working to stay and grow together. Then I think “Isn’t that what the church does anyways?” LOL.

    • drell3 says:

      Yes.. I have never watched that show, but like real life at times you have to look past all the ugly in life and find the sliver lining. It is easy to see the ugly as it is most time pushed in your face.. thanks for replying

  4. Wayne Augden says:

    I liked your post. I have to confess that I like “Duck Dynasty.” And there are a couple of others that make me turn my head, as If I’m rubber-necking a bad accident, but I just can’t stop myself from looking at the carnage sometimes…

Leave a Reply

