Kissing Cousins

I was raised as an only child, by my father.. but I was always always surrounded by cousins! In fact I really never felt like I was an only child because my cousins were always there and always seemed to get in me to some sort of predicament growing up…

People who started it all “Grandpa and Ma Barnard”

One of my first memories of cousins was when I was at the young age of around 3… I remember my older cousin Lynn and my step cousins Robin and Pam babysitting me.. I was not easy to deal with, due to the fact as they would always tell me I was SOOOO SPOILED! They had decided I needed a bath, and I was not gonna have any of that! I pitched a fit! I wanted to sit there and listen to them sing.. they had brought over a small record player and were singing songs. I was too enthralled and entertained dancing around the living room. They loved The Candy Man and played it over and over and I did not care.. I loved it too..

Cousins Myself, Lynn and Janna

It was shortly after that , that my cousins moved in with my dad and I.. talk about a house full of kids! My aunt and uncle had five kids between them.. I was the baby of the group… and I was always under foot.. they were I am sure forced to be nice to me when grownups were around, but you let them in charge of me or let a adult get out of ear shot then they turned into big ole meanies.. They always liked to play hide-n-seek and were forced to let me play.. being so small I somehow always ended up being “IT”. I could never ever find them.. this use to make me so mad and it seemed that the longer I looked the funnier they thought it was.. after searching for what seemed like hours I’d get mad and start crying.. hee hee and every time it ended the same.. My aunt Wanda would start fussing at them and they would all end up in trouble.. Humm maybe that is why they picked on me… and tried to get me to eat dog biscuits… told ya they was mean..

But it was not all bad…We use to have this HUGE garden I mean huge.. and my cousin Robin talked me into going out in the garden and picking a green bell pepper and eating it.. don’t know what we were thinking but this one act ended up turning into a contest and we cleaned the whole garden out one pepper at a time.. sneaking into and out of the garden, into the house where we salted the pepper down and gobbled them down.. We were sooo sick…the grown ups were not happy with us either! LOL But leave it to my other cousins to do something that made them forget about our transgressions.. Before they could fuss at us my cousins Donnie and Todd set the porch on fire and the fire department showed up! How cool was that.. and nothing was ever said about bell peppers again.. of course I remember Donnie and Todd got a tanning like you had never seen. Last fire they ever started…

Being the smallest and in their words not mine “Cute” I could get anything I wanted or

Cousin Donnie and Myself

they wanted.. my cousins would often send me in way after supper was over to beg for food… I remember my cousin Donnie made me go beg for a hamburger patty covered in gravy that we had for supper and I did not want to do it.. but he kept telling me they would give it to me…I did not want to do it, so instead of asking I snuck into the kitchen and grabbed one of those gravy covered burgers and stuck it in the pocket of my overalls! Marched right back upstairs and took the now lent covered meat patty out and handed it to my cousin who’s only reply was.. “Told ya.” and gobbled it all up and did not even share a bite! In fact it was this same cousin who thought it would be fun to scare the dickens out of me at the local fair.. Our grandparents got stuck watching the both of us one night and my grandfather decided he would take us to the fair, the very first time for me. My cousin insisted we get on the ferris wheel… I of course I was like ok.. and on we hopped.. he waited until this thing was almost all the way at the very top then proceeded to inform me that once it reached the very top they were gonna open the bottom and we were gonna fall out.. you talk about a mess! I started screaming to the top of my lungs very high pitched screaming at that! I wanted off that thing! I guess my cousin knowing what was gonna happen started screaming with me.. You could see my grandfather standing at the bottom, he was not happy at all, he did not have a great sense of humor and once we reached the bottom and were let off he demanded to know what happened.. Hee Hee once more my cousin received the wrath.. Of course that was the very last time he ever took us to the fair too.. darn Donnie had to ruin everything!

My cousins had their good points too.. They were always the first ones there to protect me when people started picking on me.. I mean it was ok for them to , but if anyone else did, they were dead meat! I remember several years after they had moved out, that they had moved into an apartment and the kids were babysitting me.. it was very late when my dad came to pick me up.. something had happened and my dad and aunt were fighting.. She was standing at the top of the stairs screaming at him and I just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.. She grabbed me and started slamming my head into the wall.. my cousin Lynn took her hand an placed it against the wall to prevent me from getting hurt…. her hand was busted up pretty bad.. and I always loved her for that.

It’s Funny now, tho all my cousins have grown up with families of their own and are spread out all over the US. As we all grew up we all grew apart as well. I have not spoken to most of them in ages. When my grandmother passed on it seems like the family drifted apart as well.. With some there were hurt feelings that hit right to the core of our family and those feelings to this day have never been resolved…

So here’s to the best Cousins in the world… Shug, Bonnie, Timmy, Lynn, Donnie, Pam, Robin, Todd, Nick, Little Donnie, Janna, Smith, Nikki, Blake and Cade. Even tho we seldom get the chance to see each other you each are in my heart.. always… Love you guys.

A day at the beach with the whole clan! Lynn, Pam, Margret Ann, Donnie, Todd, Robin, a friend of the boys, and me..

 

About drell3

People who know me would say I am nuts! Crazy! Silly! Honest! Loyal! I would say they are right.. but I am so much more... I am a Mother, Wife, Daughter, Friend, Cook, I could fill up this whole page.. I love my life.. I love my husband, I love my child! My family.. you thought i was gonna say my work! LOL NOT!!! I am on a journey... I am coming into my own.. discovering, learning..I am transforming.. one day I will get my butterfly wings.
This entry was posted in Babysitting, children, cousins, family, friends, Loving family, only child, support. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kissing Cousins

  1. Lyn Leahz says:

    Took a break why you and ‘da man are on the phone to read this and say…love it! Your posts always shine with personality! I love you!!!! And I love seeing the pics of you when you were a kid!

  2. Lyn Leahz says:

    Such a cute kid!!!!!!!!!

  3. drell3 says:

    LOL yeah the good old days before I hit the awkward years.. I am hoping to out grow that at some point… Sigh… LOL Love you too Lyn! more then you will ever know! Bless you always and forever…

    • Lyn Leahz says:

      Oh…I know……! LOL!!!! I love you more…Tell your hub-bub we’re going to plan B….tell him not to worry, he’ll just think the rapture happened…but it would be better to be called the “Great Rupture” for what’s coming to him one peaceful, half asleep morning of paper reading on the johnny and a cup of coffee! LOL!!!! Or the great disappearing! Whichever! Get the rope and the MAC truck ready sis…we’re going to do the booty scootin’ swooshy ma-tooshy and down home shuffle!

  4. Wayne Augden says:

    Enjoyed this very much. Made me laugh. Your friend is right about your personality. You shine through. Little worried about your husband though after reading the comments… 🙂

Leave a Reply

