Murphy who?

Throughout my married life my hubs and I have often joked about being the Griswald family, from one of my favorite movies Vacation.

It seems no matter what this family does or where they go Murphy’s Law is right behind them.. If it can go wrong it will go wrong…

I can so relate… it never failed to amaze me that every time my husband and I took a day trip to Virginia .. we would either always and I mean always get lost or turned around, miss our exit, or any number of other things that you only have to dream about…

I chose to look upon this special gift in life as our biggest adventures.. and once they start try not to stress, but just enjoy the fact that I Mrs. Griswald was embarking on a new adventure and I was with the man I loved more then life.. so bring it Murphy! Ohh did anyone else hear that…sounded like lighting… errr maybe I ought to rescind that remark…

If you ever wanted to evoke fear in my husband just mention taking a vacation.. and you can just see the color drain out of his face. I guess it was why we dreaded our ill fated trip back to NC for the death of my aunt. If you read that post a while back then you know Mr. Murphy hit us pretty hard indeed.

Some would say not only did he hit us he tattooed himself all over us! We belonged to him! We were owned! So every year we do or best to keep people safe and stay home for vacation.. no planes, trains or boats…

I can confidently say that Murphy’s Law has set up permanent residence in my house.. in fact I think it lives inside me.. my evil twin… so it should come as no surprise that things in my house go wrong all the time. My dad always wants to cook chicken and rice soup.. I love it, but and I do mean BUT I hate bones! It seems no matter how careful he is there will be a bone left in the huge pot of Chicken and Rice somewhere.. and yes I will get that bone.. it has never failed.. for years and years.. no one else ever seems to have a problem. So yesterday when someone brought up the idea of Chicken and Rice I thought “Haa haa not this time Murphy! I got you now.. I am gonna use frozen boneless and skinless chicken breast! I am gonna win this one!”

My father started the soup and I myself placed the boneless chicken breast in the pot.. Oh the smells coming from the kitchen I was getting hungry and excited at the thought of this wonderful steaming bowl of soup coming my way soon.. As official taste tester I got to sip the broth and it was perfect.. I already had bowl and spoon in hand… Once dad said it was done I scooped up a few spoon fulls and went to let it cool off for a few seconds… Oh I must say it was so good! It felt good to my hurting throat..

My father ask “So how is it?” “Nom nom so good.. nom nom..” I uttered.. then it hit me.. right out of the blue I just sat straight up and looked at him… “What is it?” He asked concerned “ Dad you are not gonna believe this….” I said as I pulled a small chicken bone out of my mouth! Murphy’s Law three thousand four hundred and ninety nine…me… ZIP! How in the heck could there be a bone in my soup! I think I must be the only person on the planet that could always sit on the proverbial needle in the middle of the haystack every single stinking time!

Of course we laughed a good ten minutes over this, but I have to say it still stung just a little to know I had been beat once more by Mr. Murphy… one day Murphy one day……

About drell3

People who know me would say I am nuts! Crazy! Silly! Honest! Loyal! I would say they are right.. but I am so much more... I am a Mother, Wife, Daughter, Friend, Cook, I could fill up this whole page.. I love my life.. I love my husband, I love my child! My family.. you thought i was gonna say my work! LOL NOT!!! I am on a journey... I am coming into my own.. discovering, learning..I am transforming.. one day I will get my butterfly wings.
This entry was posted in Car trips, Chicken And Rice Soup, family, frustration, making the best of it, Murphy's Law, vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Murphy who?

  1. Wayne Augden says:

    LOL! I don’t think you’re the only one dealing with Mr. Murphy. Pull up “Murphy” on the internet and see how many hits you get! 278,000,000!

Leave a Reply

