Carb counting 101…

OMGosh! Please somebody stop me! I am about to embark on a hideous journey. I am going where no sane person should ever tread…. someone smack me now…. “insert eerie music here”

I am about to undertake a DIET! Run people run for your life. Get to safety before the monster is unleashed… sigh..

 

I have never been very good at diets.. they never work..err well maybe it is I that never work hard on them… I get frustrated because I want to eat what I want to eat when I want to eat it. I am spoiled like that. I have never been a sweet eater so I have been blessed in that way. You however put a bag of chips in front of me and consider them gone!

 

It seems any success I have ever had with diets was short term.. I would come out of the gate like a horse destine to win, and after a few short weeks I’d get bored, not be happy with how it was going, or just hate the stuff I had to eat and give up thus gaining back the weight I had lost and a little more to boot! What a vicious cycle!

 

I do a lot of the cooking so I can not blame it on the people in my house.. it would be nice if I could tho.. LOL But my Father and I are sort of in the same boat now so I am gonna make him join me in some of this… We are going to try the Atkins Diet.. get rid of those carbohydrates, or at least try t reduce them way down… so pasta, rice, potatoes, breads..things I love love love will not be part of my food choices for a while… I still have a lot of reading to do however I am eager to do it.

I am however glad that I will not have to give up things I do love..Eggs, chicken, steak, bacon.. so yes this seems better then anything I have ever tried. I am a protein eater always have been..so here’s to a life style change…

 

I am also going to undertake a little exercise.. A dear friend of mine started the couch to 5K program and is gonna help me get started..  This is a program for people who have no running experience  and that would be me.  Start me out very very slowly and build up!  I have always wanted to run, but my will power had other ideas.. So there is a part of me that is very excited about that. I was gonna start that today, but to be honest I am beat. I worked all night have have not gotten any sleep at all today, so I promise I am gonna get up early in the morning and start..

 

So here I go feet first into this new chapter in my life.. somebody call the crazy house and have them on alert please… I or some member of my family may need them at some point… soon.

About drell3

People who know me would say I am nuts! Crazy! Silly! Honest! Loyal! I would say they are right.. but I am so much more... I am a Mother, Wife, Daughter, Friend, Cook, I could fill up this whole page.. I love my life.. I love my husband, I love my child! My family.. you thought i was gonna say my work! LOL NOT!!! I am on a journey... I am coming into my own.. discovering, learning..I am transforming.. one day I will get my butterfly wings.
This entry was posted in Atkins Diet, change of life, Couch to 5K, exercise, Food, gaining weight, loosing weight, self control, support. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Carb counting 101…

  1. Lyn Leahz says:

    I miss you! Talked to your ‘ol’ man last night! LOL 😉 Told him to tell you how much I love and miss you and how special you are to me. I also asked him how you were doing with the cold/bronchitis. God bless you!!!!!! ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

    • drell3 says:

      Aww I miss you too! It seems like it has been forever.. I know you have been busy with your book and I have not wanted to slow you down.. I love ya dearly! I am better with the cold.. finally.. was a long weekend at work going to enjoy the rest of the week.. hope to chat with you soon! LOVE YA MUCH!

  2. alwayzhis says:

    Please be very careful with the Atkins Diet. Usually the reason diets only work short term is because what we really need is a lifestyle change. Before I became ill, I was working toward my doctorate in Naturopathic Medicine— with diet and lifestyle as my area of practice.
    Your body needs those carbs for energy… but they have to be the right ones.
    I care about your health as a sister in Christ. Do some research honey please on Atkins.
    Blessings
    Stephanie

    • Lyn Leahz says:

      Drell, she’s right. I was on the Adkins diet for blood sugar control and I developed PVC’s as a result. I have harmless ones, but they can be harmful if I drink too much caffeine or take the wrong meds. I felt awful when I was on it. In fact, the doctor who came up with it died, I forget the complication, though. Maybe Stephanie remembers? Anyhow, my suggestion is eat lots of fruits, veggies (fresh), lean meat, and for your carbs, wholegrain brown rice with wild rice and/or a baked potato with your dinner. Get lean healthy! The Adkins diet is dangerous! I promise!

      • alwayzhis says:

        Complications of Atkins that are the worst is the stress on the cardiac muscles resulting in possible heart attacks.
        Lyn your suggestions are very good.
        I eat only poultry, fish, some reduced fat dairy and sometimes very lean red meat. Also a lot of green leafy vegetables, fruits high in antioxidants and whole grain complex carbs. I cook a lot even though I am alone, processed foods with high fructose corn syrup are BAD!! And so is the added salt in processed foods.
        There are many carbs that are high in protein and iron. Whole wheat pasta, brown or wild rice, oats, etc
        Hope this helps and if you would like some other suggestions just e-mail me learning2bestill@gmail.com

        Stephanie

      • Lyn Leahz says:

        I eat only brown rice with wild rice, oat bran, green leafy veggies and most all veggies except for corn..corn products and soy are VERY bad for you! I don’t eat dairy anymore..i drink unsweetened coconut milk and I use only olive oil (extra virgin) and coconut oil. I eat a lot of fresh salmon, organic chicken, and once in a blue moon, lead red met. I also eat home made lentil soup with ginger, lemon, parsley, etc. I only drink water, and I do have black coffee a couple times a day. Dairy, corn, sugar, gluten, soy…they’re all just plain awful for you! I eat nothing processed or pre made.

  3. coastalmom says:

    Ahhh after I said that your Walmart story was your last post… I found this one! I still say you are in the wrong profession… You need to be the next Erma Bombeck! I love your writing!
    I lost 50 pounds on WWs two years ago… it has slowly found me again… At least my size 8s are in the back of the closet again 😦
    Keep up the good work! You inspire me!!! 🙂

  4. Wayne Augden says:

    Be happy, be healthy, be blessed. 🙂 And, be careful with this dieting thing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

