Grumble Grumble Roar Roar..

I just have to tell you it has been a while I know I know..but it seems if I wait long enough stuff happens! Life is strange like that!

Oh where to begin over the last few months I have noticed that I have been letting things around me affect me either in a positive or negative way.. Mostly negative.. and oh my goodness it really get’s bad at work.. It is no secret that I dislike working.. I’d rather be home cooking or something else..

I do have to say that I am moody and no fun to be around when it is time to head out the door. If truth be told I probably should never drive myself to work! I might just drive right on by! LOL It at times takes every thing I have in me to just walk through the door. It seems tho that after I have been there at least fifteen minutes I seem to get into my rhythm and things start falling into place.

 

It seems these past few months I have been having a harder and harder time “getting out of it”. There just seemed to be a negative feeling hanging over me like a bad rain cloud that follows you around raining on your head! Everything was making me mad and tired and upset. People were being mistreated.. pushed too hard.. and used like cattle.. you name it and I can pretty much assure you I was feeling it.

 

It did not help that it was also coming from the people around me. They were and are not happy about how things at work have been going and it just seems to creep into your head .. you start feeling it as well. I will be the first to tell you Walt-mart does not treat their people very well… they keep them well under staffed and over worked. They are never happy with anything you give them, they seem to want more, more, more.

This past week I have been hearing rumbles of walkouts and so forth.. and I have to ask myself .. if I ever had the guts to do something like that. Most of these people are walking for more money, better schedules, better health care… I look at myself and think “OK you work for WAL-MART! If you wanna earn 22 bucks and hour go get a degree..” I agree on the better health care.. we pay an arm and a leg every two weeks and I have always felt they have never provided great results. However in this day and age we have to have it. It is now being forced by our government that we all have it..

 

You better know if Walt-mart can find loop holes and get out of paying for insurance they are gonna do it and fast! They have already cut insurance for part time people and if you could not guess it, they are only hiring part time people.. hummm. Is anyone really shocked.

As you have guessed this week at our store the biggest complaint is being under staffed and over worked. And yes Black Friday…. this year has been a nightmare… People are so upset.. most not because they have to work, but that they decided to make certain groups work twelve hour shifts.

 

Haa haa this is where my biggest grief has come the past few weeks.. I use to work 40 hours a week and hated it. About three years ago I choose to cut my hours to spend more time with my kid and family. Upon my cutting my hours I chose to work the days I was needed most (Friday, Saturday, and Sunday) and I have worked these days without fail. Every year without fail My mangers will come up to me as ask if I want to work Blitz.. and they always get the same answer “NO”. It has never changed.. This year however no one asked me or cared if I had plans.. they just plugged me into a twelve hour slot and called it good. NOT! I have been battling for several weeks and getting no where fast. So I have decided I just did not care at this point what they wanted I am just gonna call in and they are gonna have to deal with it. So I guess in my own way I am doing my own sort of walkout, and for my own reasons.

Upon making this decision a peace has come over me.. I decided I was tired of going to work in a bad mood every night and I know a few of my friends are tired as well of listening to me fuss and grumble. I was and am determined to go to work with a better attitude. If I go on and tell myself I am better then this. That I really do like the people I work with and that my job is not hard, right now I am lucky to have a job that even offers insurance to a part timer like me.. It really makes a difference.. I have been in so much a better mood, I have been my old crazy self, and in a lighter mood. Not sure my co-workers quite understand. I do know my manger thinks that he has won this battle and that I will be sitting there come Thursday evening.. little does he know that I have already made peace with my choice to call in and let the chips fall where they may.

I have decided that I can not always control the rain clouds that will follow me around sometimes but I can control how I react to them.. so from now on when I get besieged by dark, rainy clouds I am gonna let my inner child out and go play in the rain!

So if you have to work this Thanksgiving year I applaud you and wish you only the best. I hope your work is over soon and you find time to enjoy a day with people who love you.

About drell3

People who know me would say I am nuts! Crazy! Silly! Honest! Loyal! I would say they are right.. but I am so much more... I am a Mother, Wife, Daughter, Friend, Cook, I could fill up this whole page.. I love my life.. I love my husband, I love my child! My family.. you thought i was gonna say my work! LOL NOT!!! I am on a journey... I am coming into my own.. discovering, learning..I am transforming.. one day I will get my butterfly wings.
This entry was posted in Black Friday, frustration, Looking inward, making the best of it, Wal-Mart, work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grumble Grumble Roar Roar..

  1. coastalmom says:

    I have Thanksgiving off but work tomorrow and the day after. And then I asked for the day after Christmas off (we are closed on Mondays so it will be my first Christmas eve off in seven years) and found out I asked too late. I work the entire week of Thanksgiving and Christmas minus the actual hollidays! But love that at least I get Chrismas eve and day off! Yaaay! Sooo my daughter has a premier for her little indy (Independent film) and it is Dec 5th and our anniversary is the 4th so my hubby decided to make it a celebration.. (her first film and our anniversary) but my schedule was already posted and had been for weeks… My boss is working for me!!! Sooo… I am thankful that I am not so lost in a corporate pool that I can’t appreciate and be appreciated… Get …Ya gotta see One Magic Christmas!!! 😉 I’m telling you!!!
    XOXO

  2. Eddy says:

    After working on/off for so many years (one year working, two years unemployed) I finally caved in and applied for Disability. It’s been almost 10 years and I am happier for it. No more work-related stress of mixing up my days off and taking days off thinking that they were my days off when actually they were not. LOL. But I realize that many people DO have to work in order to survive.

  3. Wayne Augden says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! Reading your blogs is like that for me…. like playing in the rain. 🙂

  4. Lyn Leahz says:

    A good laugh for my special, dear sister who deserves it!

Leave a Reply

