Finding a place..

Have you ever had a light bulb moment?

church

What? I am sure you have.. I have had a few in my life time. Luckily they were just eye opening moments.. The husband joined a new church a while back and he has found a new home. He loves this church and the people in it. He had been after me for months to go give it a try.. I always had a million reasons not too.. I had been up all night working ,I was tired. Sick.. you name it I used it.

churchrunningDon’t want to say he had given up on ever getting me there cause he didn’t. However he learned a lesson early on in our marriage.. that I don’t like to be pushed into anything. The harder you push me the more I dig my heals in.. Just call me a big ole donkey butt cause I can be stubborn. In fact you keep pushing me I turn away.. I did that with church. He use to push me nonstop. I do mean nonstop and I did what I do best shut him down..

I was raised in the church.. from the day I was out of the hospital. I spent every Sunday, Tuesday and Wednesday there. I was involved in every activity they threw at me. Baked cakes for the cake walks.. stayed up for the rock-a-tons.. camp every year.. I even taught Sunday School. Upon moving to Nashville to attend collage.. I was churchless and tried several that my friends went too. I always found something wrong with each one.

churchcakewalk

They were too big.. too noisy.. they were doing strange things I had never seen nor heard before and really freaked me out. I did find a church I loved with super people a great pastor (who looked like Vince Gill by the way.)vince I felt so welcomed and loved there. I looked forward to every meeting and special programs. It was with great sadness that I had to leave this church when I moved back home to help take care of my sick Grams. She Kept me pretty busy and my old church just did not feel like home anymore and I did not attend.

Then I met my hubs.. well we met in a Christian chat room. I fell in love with this wonderful strong man. It was soon apparent he was made for me and has been giving me fits ever sense. We have great fun together and something I am blessed by. During this time I remained churchless.. I knew what I knew and believed what I believed and that has never wavered ever. It was after we were married we really learned just how different we were in so many ways. He was shutter Baptist LOL and I was Non-denominational. There was a huge difference and we just could not come to an understanding.. He did not like my church choices nor I his. So we just did not go to church.

churchslider

Upon moving back to Oklahoma he started going to the church he was raised in and I was working overnights on the weekends (thus all my excuses) and once more just used it as another reason. He urged and dreamed I would attend his church and I never would. I am really shy by nature and do not enjoy huge crowds. I prefer smaller groups.. getting to know people on my own terms.

After years of of not being satisfied with his home church he ventured out to try a church a friend of ours recommended. I think he attended once and he said he felt like he was home. He weighed his decision and prayed on it. Then choose to to switch his membership. Then he starts on me.. come come meet the people.. you will love them.. it is a small church.. just like you like. He tried not to pressure me too much for fear of pushing me further away. I had come such a long way over the years and we were at a point that we could have great debates about the bible. Me of course always playing devil’s advocate, to the point at times of driving him insane.

church1When I chose to leave my job my excuses were no longer valid and he made sure to let me know that. I agreed to give this church a chance. He knew I was going and forewarned them I did not like to be crowded and to let me come into it on my own. Gratefully they did just that. To be honest my first day there I made him go in first just to make sure the roof did not fall in on me when I walked through the door. It was a tough roof I guess as it is still standing.

I must say I found them all charming and sweet. That was a huge plus in my book. Yes they were a small church.. another plus. The Pastor was soft spoken and did not yell.. another huge plus for me. I have slowly started coming around and look forward to seeing these people now. I still tend to keep to myself.. I guess in time that too will change. I am enjoying being back in church.. even if it is a Baptist church.. LOL I am just playing.. I have teased my hubs forever about Baptist so I could not resist. I may never be a scripture quoter and I may not be the one who asked tons of questions but I do pay attention. I listen and learn. I can promise you this tho.. that man has a hot line to God.. cause every Sunday and I mean every Sunday there is something in his sermons that he is directing just to me. Talk about stepping on ones toes..

churchtoes2

About drell3

People who know me would say I am nuts! Crazy! Silly! Honest! Loyal! I would say they are right.. but I am so much more... I am a Mother, Wife, Daughter, Friend, Cook, I could fill up this whole page.. I love my life.. I love my husband, I love my child! My family.. you thought i was gonna say my work! LOL NOT!!! I am on a journey... I am coming into my own.. discovering, learning..I am transforming.. one day I will get my butterfly wings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Finding a place..

  1. Nanxy Christy says:

    Good for Denny. We’ll keep him…LOL

Leave a comment